How To Measure A Chevron Accent Wall

When I first learned I was pregnant, the first thing I wanted to do was get straight to nesting and paint a nursery! I looked through pin after blog after pin of different nursery designs, patterns, and color schemes. I’ve fallen completely in love with patterned accent walls and knew I had to have one! So I decided I’d commit to one, and paint a gray and white stripped chevron wall. I found LOTS of tutorials on how the painting should be done, and had a general idea of how the process should look, but when I sat down with my tape measure and a giant roll of frog painters tape, I had NO idea where to start.

I AM NO MATH WHIZ.

Although I could find many blogs on chevron walls, none had any instruction about how to measure and divide the wall. I’m quite particular, and wanted to make sure that the each line ended at an angle, so that the top of each chevron peak would just touch the tip of the ceiling, the intersecting walls would touch either the deepest part of the valley or the tip of the peak in each angle. I was stumped.
So I took a few sheets of paper, a ruler, and a calculator and started creating scaled replicas of my wall. After a few drafts of trail and error, I feel like I’ve finally got the system down.

I present to you, the Czarni method of measuring a chevron accent wall.

Step 1. Find the height and width of your wall. (Vertically, measure from the ceiling intersection, to the top of the baseboard.)
For the sake of example, we’re going to say your lovely wall is an even 10’x10′.

Step 2. Divide your wall in half, vertically and horizontally.

chevron1

Step 3. Divide those halves, in half (like so…)

chevron2

Step 4.  Continue dividing halves until you have a width/height you’re comfortable with. Then comes the fun part. Once you have the measurement between grid lines, take a pencil and mark along the outer edges of your accent wall. I used a chalk line tool to mark the graph. You can purchase one of these for about $6. I was working solo, so i just taped one end of the chalk line to my mark, extended the line to the mark on the opposite side, and SNAP! You’ve got a guide line! (TIP: put down newspaper or some other kind of carpet protection before you use the chalk. If you have a light colored carpet, the red dust from the chalk could make you suuuuper sad.)

Your wall should come out looking something like this:

chevron3

Step 5. It’s time to tape!!! I prefer frog tape over blue. I find i get much more crisp lines and less bleedings, especially around places like baseboards where I usually end up creasing the tape over an edge. Frog tape is about an inch wide, so I would make sure the bottom side of my tape sat directly on top of each intersecting line of my grid. That gave me vision of each intersection as I added the next stripe. Next, take a box cutter or x-acto knife and trim off access tape. Simply use the edge of the intersecting paint line as a guide.


gridandtape

Step 6. Get your roller out and start painting!!!!

Step 7. Pull tape! I find that if I wait until my paint is completely dry to pull tape, some of the paint comes off with the tape. I’ve had much better luck pulling tape when my paint is still just a liiiittle damp. Take a damp wash cloth and wipe away any existing chalk lines that weren’t hidden by paint.

Step 8. Step back and enjoy. 🙂

chevron wall (2)

Forgive my lack of photos, I completed this project before I knew I wanted to start a blog, and we’ve since moved to a new home out of state, so I can’t take any more/better photos… If this blog helps you with your chevron accent wall, please share a photos of your success in the comments below!!!

Leave a Reply

